These are the known members of the Guild whose service was marked by their election as a Life Honorary Member.

The title was first written into the rules in 1974 to be an award for outstanding services to the Guild and was by election at the AGM on the proposition of either the Guild Management Committee or of a Branch.  From 1951 the Annual Report prints a list of LHMs but rarely are the elections mentioned in the report.  It appears that it was awarded upon payment from important people in the diocese and to retiring officers, including non-ringing clerics.  Please advise the webmaster of further information.


The 61 Life Honorary Members:

NameYear of Election
William A Yates1982
Richard Yates2020
A N Wood
Revd Canon Michael Wilson1982
William J Whitmore1974
Ernest E Whitmore1955
Dorothy Westerman2005
David Westerman2017
Peter D Wenham2004
John Weaver1986
H J Vaughan1963
J Malcolm Tyler1980
Canon G F Turner1966
Derek Thornton2012
Patricia Teall2017
David Teall2017
Cecil Swann2006
Dorothy Stopps2012
Lt Col H G Sotherby
Rev Roger W Smith1983
Stanley M Ruddlesden1983
Canon R H Robinson
Geoffrey Pullin2011
Victor Perry1991
Denis G Pearson2008
Revd Canon Ernest G Orland1980
James R Mossop1980
Burley P Morris1959
Rev T Merriman
Rear-Adml Sir Wellwood Maxwell
Alan Marks2019
W Loveday
Canon T W Long1955
Rex Line2001
Gerald Kingston2004
Derek Jones1992
Susan Jones2020
C E Ivens
Frederick W Hutt1991
James Hedgcock1998
Len Hallifax2019
Christopher Groome1991
Ven Cecil J Grimes1959
Edward C Garrett2004
Revd C J W Faulkner1972
Anthony Evans2006
Brenda Dixon2015
Hilda Collins2014
Mary R Coleman2004
Murray A Coleman1990
Patrick I Chapman1966
Fred Chambers1991
Revd Canon J L Cartwright
C William Brown1988
Janet Bowers2015
John H Bluff1971
Robert G Black
Eric E Billings1977
Maureen Basford2011
Hilary Aslett2006
C Adams