These are the known members of the Guild whose service was marked by their election as a Life Honorary Member.

The title was first written into the rules in 1974 to be an award for outstanding services to the Guild and was by election at the AGM on the proposition of either the Guild Management Committee or of a Branch.  From 1951 the Annual Report prints a list of LHMs but rarely are the elections mentioned in the report.  It appears that it was awarded upon payment from important people in the diocese and to retiring officers, including non-ringing clerics.  Please advise the webmaster of further information.

Note: The names shown in italics are Honary Life Members known to be deceased.


The 64 Life Honorary Members:

NameYear of Election
C Adams
Hilary Aslett2006
Maureen Basford2011
Eric E Billings1977
Robert G Black
John H Bluff1971
Janet Bowers2015
C William Brown1988
Revd Canon J L Cartwright
Fred Chambers1991
Patrick I Chapman1966
Murray A Coleman1990
Mary R Coleman2004
Hilda Collins2014
Brenda Dixon2015
Anthony Evans2006
Revd C J W Faulkner1972
Edward C Garrett2004
Ven Cecil J Grimes1959
Christopher Groome1991
Len Hallifax2019
James Hedgcock1998
Ray Henman2006
Frederick W Hutt1991
C E Ivens
Derek Jones1992
Susan Jones2020
Gerald Kingston2004
Rex Line2001
Canon T W Long1955
W Loveday
Alan Marks2019
Rear-Adml Sir Wellwood Maxwell
Rev T Merriman
Burley P Morris1959
James R Mossop1980
Revd Canon Ernest G Orland1980
Graham Paul2023
Bridget Paul2023
Denis G Pearson2008
Victor Perry1991
Geoffrey Pullin2011
Canon R H Robinson
Stanley M Ruddlesden1983
Rev Roger W Smith1983
Lt Col H G Sotherby
Dorothy Stopps2012
Cecil Swann2006
Patricia Teall2017
David Teall2017
Derek Thornton2012
Canon G F Turner1966
J Malcolm Tyler1980
H J Vaughan1963
John Weaver1986
Peter D Wenham2004
Dorothy Westerman2005
David Westerman2017
William J Whitmore1974
Ernest E Whitmore1955
Revd Canon Michael Wilson1982
A N Wood
Richard Yates2020
William A Yates1982