These are the known members of the Guild whose service was marked by their election as a Life Honorary Member.

The title was first written into the rules in 1974 to be an award for outstanding services to the Guild and was by election at the AGM on the proposition of either the Guild Management Committee or of a Branch.  From 1951 the Annual Report prints a list of LHMs but rarely are the elections mentioned in the report.  It appears that it was awarded upon payment from important people in the diocese and to retiring officers, including non-ringing clerics.  Please advise the webmaster of further information.

Note: The names shown in italics are Honary Life Members known to be deceased.


The 64 Life Honorary Members:

NameYear of Election
Graham Paul2023
Bridget Paul2023
Susan Jones2020
Richard Yates2020
Alan Marks2019
Len Hallifax2019
David Westerman2017
Patricia Teall2017
David Teall2017
Janet Bowers2015
Brenda Dixon2015
Hilda Collins2014
Derek Thornton2012
Dorothy Stopps2012
Maureen Basford2011
Geoffrey Pullin2011
Denis G Pearson2008
Ray Henman2006
Anthony Evans2006
Cecil Swann2006
Hilary Aslett2006
Dorothy Westerman2005
Mary R Coleman2004
Edward C Garrett2004
Peter D Wenham2004
Gerald Kingston2004
Rex Line2001
James Hedgcock1998
Derek Jones1992
Frederick W Hutt1991
Fred Chambers1991
Victor Perry1991
Christopher Groome1991
Murray A Coleman1990
C William Brown1988
John Weaver1986
Stanley M Ruddlesden1983
Rev Roger W Smith1983
Revd Canon Michael Wilson1982
William A Yates1982
James R Mossop1980
J Malcolm Tyler1980
Revd Canon Ernest G Orland1980
Eric E Billings1977
William J Whitmore1974
Revd C J W Faulkner1972
John H Bluff1971
Patrick I Chapman1966
Canon G F Turner1966
H J Vaughan1963
Ven Cecil J Grimes1959
Burley P Morris1959
Ernest E Whitmore1955
Canon T W Long1955
A N Wood
Lt Col H G Sotherby
Canon R H Robinson
Rev T Merriman
Rear-Adml Sir Wellwood Maxwell
W Loveday
C E Ivens
Revd Canon J L Cartwright
Robert G Black
C Adams